Community Contributions 3: PLN, Inclusion, and Community Engagement

https://janine.opened.ca/2021/06/04/blog-post-3-your-pln-inclusion-and-community-engagement/

Janine – I thought that you made an important point about the content that we see on social media. The algorithm benefits continued content consumption, and we often end up seeing perspectives that match or are similar to our own. If you find a platform that is less curated, let me know! All of the ones that I know are going the opposite direction..! It sounds like you are making a great use of the in-person resources that you have for your PLN. I am sure that the Aboriginal Education teacher and the Student Services teacher appreciate that you have connected with them for support and resources. At the end of your post, you mention that increased use of social media could be a tool to “‘be better informed’ on public advocacy issues”. I would recommend choosing one platform to begin with, and then find a few accounts that align with the information and values that you are looking for. Then maybe check out the accounts that they follow – I’ve found a few great accounts this way!

Aeshaa – I really enjoyed reading your post. Great point about how quickly misinformation can spread on social media. Twitter does a great job with the ‘fact check’ functionality, but it still doesn’t manage to catch everything! You have a solid sense of your PLN and who is included in it. I am not in the healthcare field, but I have definitely found it beneficial as an educator to also have a good number of people from BC in my PLN. I have also been looking to open up my PLN more to include more diverse perspectives, but it is a work in progress! Thank you for your post this week, I am looking forward to hearing more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.